Merry Eostre


So my dear and diverse readers in blogging land, I’m going to diverge from my normal protocol (well mostly) and stick my toe into the potentially controversial topic of religion.

Today as most of you know is Easter here in the US. And some of you may also know, because I have mentioned on my blog before, I am not Christian– although I do tend to be a very spiritual (and respectful) person. But there is one thing that I have found over the years perplexing (and maybe slightly tiresome) that I’m going to put out to you all.

Why do people–like almost everybody I bump into–feel compelled to wish me a Happy Easter and assume this has meaning to me? This has been going on for days leading up to today and each time I hear it, I just wonder what they think when they say it. Do they think that I too am Christian and celebrate this particular holiday or is it just something to say instead of: gee, it’s a nice day out?

To me it would seem the more appropriate thing to say might be: Do you celebrate Easter? And then this might open a conversation. Or they could even discuss their Easter plans and say: What a great day for Easter. Then it leaves the other person open to speak of their plans if they have any, or just listen if they don’t.

If someone is a completely different religion, say Jewish, wishing them a Happy Easter, is not particularly relevant to them. At Christmas time these phrases (Merry Christmas!!) happen too, although folks seem sometimes to be a bit more aware and sometimes offer a ‘Happy Holidays’ just in case.

I understand that people aren’t trying to be rude or anything, but it’s more about awareness of ones interactions with people and who they might be. Like the adage: don’t assume. Just because you believe something and it has meaning to you, doesn’t mean it does to someone else (even if it has meaning to a large population). It’s maybe not a big thing really. Just a small politeness. A tiny way to say: hey, I’m me, but maybe you’re you and it’s OK. We can all live here together with our own beliefs, traditions and truths. A way to keep trying to connect our world on a more individual level and not lump everyone into a category. Maybe if we tried this and took the time to get to know each person we met rather than treat them as a reflection of our own insecurities, there wouldn’t be so much hate and fear.

So what if I said to you: Merry Eostre. What would you say and how would you feel? Would you take the time it hear what it means to me? Or will you remain in your own story till the end…??

I hope you all had a wonderful, peaceful and blessed Sunday.

wpid-IMG_20130623_193618.jpg

13 thoughts on “Merry Eostre

  1. I hear what you’re saying. I think maybe religious holidays in our country have become so secularized that people who aren’t even religious still celebrate the secular aspect and assume others do, too. But you’re right, we shouldn’t assume.

  2. Personally, I try not to say “Happy Easter” or happy any other holiday unless I know that someone celebrates it. But if someone says it to me, then I try to take it as more that they are affirming the holiday they are celebrating, even if I am know, if you know what I mean. Still, I agree that the most polite way is to not say it unless you are sure.

    1. You strike me as someone considerate and aware Ann so this does not surprise me. Maybe I’m making too much out of something, but I just feel we have to start small when it comes to respect. There is SO much disrespect I hear all the time–especially here for some reason. People are openly prejudice, I am so amazed. You can see my comment to Shweta. All the time folks are just dissing folks from other ethnic groups in public with utter disregard to whether I am one of them, or love someone from them or whatever. They are constantly putting down drug addicts when my daughter suffered from addiction too. Sometimes I really wish folks would learn to keep their comments to themselves honestly—maybe I’m just not interested in most of what they have to say!!

      1. I know what you mean! I have friends and relatives who are part of whatever religious, political, and ethnic group you can name, so I really don’t want to hear anyone put down. And yet I do, all the time! It does get old, doesn’t it?

      2. It’s just really quite amazing in this day and age of social media/news/TV and everything else blasting about awareness, bullying, hate, prejudice that people just don’t seem to understand that things they say fall into the categories of hurtful and mean things?? It’s utterly baffling…

  3. welllll — it’s part of white privilege to think that whatever I do/believe must be the right way cause most every one else does the same — i could get into a rant here – but just not gonna go there — p.s, i’m SOOO glad spring is here – whew

    1. Agreed. Rant away…I could have ranted more, but I didn’t. I’m glad you must be receiving nicer weather. I wonder why it still says anonymous?? You’re so mysterious. xo

  4. I know. I can relate to this as well. I’m not a Christian either and I’ve thought the same way about being wished on an occasion that I don’t celebrate. You’re right. People do assume a lot when they wish others. But maybe they do it because it’s ingrained in them to wish anyone and everyone who comes across their path..

    1. Exactly…you know what they say about assuming?? It’s an old joke. Maybe they think that, but I think it’s more that everyone just thinks within their own scope of beliefs. It’s just so myopic. I don’t get it really. I was in the pool today and someone started saying some completely derogatory stuff about a certain ethnicity. Now they have no idea if my people were from that group, yet this woman was ranting away in the most uncomplimentary way! It’s amazing. People just don’t think before they speak and think everyone just wants to hear their verbal spouting.

      1. Classic class of thinking before speaking. When they rant, all they’re really concerned about is to keep speaking. Throw caution to the wind and do just that. Yes, it is myopic indeed! They’re are causing a lot of hurt sentiments and they’ll probably never be aware of that.

Leave a Reply

