The Best Life


wpid-20141207_092856_20141209132113512.jpg

While almost everyone I know is most likely surrounded by friends or family celebrating one holiday or another, I am home contemplating my life and current situation…by myself.

You see, I am search of a new job again because last Friday my manager informed that I was too slow at my tasks. Since it’s a holiday I won’t bore you with the details, because complaining is not what this post is about. Rather, it’s about life, goals and hopes.

When I had explained to one family member what happened, she had put the blame on me, as though I was somehow inadequate. That I am always finding fault in everything and can’t stay put. Of course, me being me, I immediately thought this was correct: that yes indeed I’m a failure and I blew it once again.

wpid-0820130617.jpg

But luckily, I spoke with two other people who were more understanding: My Mom and another dear and wonderful best friend, who put the record straight. They reminded me that the goal in life should be satisfaction, whatever the cost. If it means giving up little piddly jobs, then so be it. If it takes months and months to find the right one, then fine. Sometimes good things take sacrifice and soul-searching. These things aren’t always handed to us, and because of this they are all the more sweet.

Leaving my home in the North and coming here took lots of sacrifice and maybe there is more to be had in my future. To attain the best life, one must persevere and not just give up and settle. How often do we do this because we feel we must? We put up with crappy jobs or miserable relationships or live in awful conditions because we are too fearful or don’t feel we deserve something better. How easily I had been convinced it was my fault that these jobs didn’t work out?

wpid-20141113_080005.jpg

The world is changing in my opinion. Others don’t try as hard as I do because my expectations are high. In fact, they have always been higher than others. So therefore I often get dashed expectations. It’s painful, but when they are met, I am the luckiest person in the world. Do I lower them just because others can’t lift up to a place of caring and worth? I’m afraid not. I’ll deal with the pain and disappointment. If we have high expectations, then if we’re lucky maybe we’ll get to the middle of them; if we have lower ones, then where will we end up?

So this holiday season my gift is that I realized that it’s OK to aim for the best life and not feel guilty or ashamed. It may not be someone else’s idea of a ‘best life’, but it will be mine. I know what it is and what it will mean to me and hopefully someday this dream will come true!

wpid-20150217_213802.jpg

6 thoughts on “The Best Life

  1. I am so happy for you my dear friend. I am happy that you are staying true to yourself and your convictions. Happy that as hard as life can feel sometimes, in ways I can’t imagine, you continue to persevere and search for your peace and contentment. You have been so strong and eyes and heart forward on your journey. Well done. My beloved mom used to say “Sally forth and have no fear”. May your search bear fruit that is sweet and lovely my dear……

    1. Yes: she is right, to thine own self be true. People are so funny, because my manager says to me today when I gave him my resignation: this makes me so sad! I guess he has no idea how he comes off. It’s really too bad because he loses so many people with his behavior. I can picture his growing up and how few friends he had…

Leave a Reply

