Drifting


Today struck me as a day to reach back and reach forward. So I sent out some emails to folks I have lost along the way: partly on purpose, partly because life just happens. Feeling disconnected might do that to us I suppose…make us want to see who is still out there; those that were a part of our lives in the past. It’s interesting to see if they still care at all, how they are and what they are up to and if the connection still lingers. Sometimes the world can seem an insulated place.

wpid-20141114_080300.jpg

And one email was sent for future connections: to put a feeler out to see about a Friend’s Meeting at a Quaker Meeting house not far from where I live. I’ve attended them before and would like to check it out. Who knows if it still exists–they are often small gatherings in out-of-the-way places. So rather than go, I figured I would see if I could find anything out first.

Moving into my second year in this new place, I still feel alienated in many ways. While many things are good in my life (like the wonderful relationship with my Mother), there are other things that feel hollow. I’ve heard repeatedly from folks that this area is a hard place to feel a sense of community or to make friends, but I don’t completely blame the area. It’s my mental space too.

The older I get, the more introspective I become and the harder it is for me to find my tribe. Even one friend can be a challenge. Sometimes the confines of my four walls are a space that give me a comfort that can be hard to replace with other kinds of satisfactions. Being home is sacred, comforting, safe and peaceful. But I know the danger in being lulled into never venturing out.

So, I push myself to reach out: to the past (although it took dropping some walls on my part) and to the future which means letting go of some fear of not fitting in, to see if this sense of drifting I feel at times can settle down.

8 thoughts on “Drifting

  1. I have always treasured my alone time. And you are right that after years of service to our fellow humans, it can leave one yearning for space and solitude and no decision harder than which good book to pick up. But somehow life keeps finding us, and while it is good to be with our fellow humans, I dream of my cabin in the woods by the lake and the very long driveway……….

  2. yeah I hear you — I have no tribe any more – I surely miss the days of so many of us together soul dancing and trancing –

    1. You don’t go to May Memorial anymore? It seemed like you had lots of friends still when I visited?? Those were fantastic days…I miss them. I wonder if it’s just hard to make that kind of community anymore?

Leave a Reply

