Wounds 


The wounds we suffer from an unexpected illness or traumatic accident or incident can go layers deeper beyond our physical being. The bruises, broken bones, scars, lumps or changes going on under our skin may be seen under a microscope or with an X-ray, but no one has a clue what is churning within  our psyche—sometimes not even us.

Certainly if an injury involves the brain at all, then it’s impossible to understand how we feel. Even a concussion can cause memory loss, depression and a host of other feelings the individual may not be aware are related to the injury.

We are such complex machines. We include part computer, pipes, motor, lenses and this crazy soul. If any one of these parts isn’t functioning, the rest limps along poorly. 

The odd part is that we may not even be aware something is wrong or unable to articulate what it is….

So in a system of health care providers that don’t care or are too busy to really pay attention, we are left with lots of people who aren’t being treated properly. If a patient is elderly or simply just too hurt or ill to understand what is going on, they will slip through the cracks and get poor care . 


So what do we do? 

I was one of these people a number of years ago after a horrific car accident. I had no clue just how brain injured I truly was at the time. I was a mess. Yes my physical injuries were bad, but the hidden mental, spiritual and emotional injuries lasted much longer.

Luckily I had friends nearby to help talk me off the ledge. My depression became cavernous. It snuck up on me. My memory was shattered for a while too. And the pain was like a lover that wouldn’t leave my side. It was dark times.


If we are lucky we will have an advocate  or at least someone who cares a lot and who still is in touch with reality when we are not. It’s hard to listen when our lives have been shaken and our bodies rattled. A part of us believes nothing will be right again.

But actually I believe these things actually do change us for the better. It’s like nature’s way of doing a rapid mutation, sometimes only lasting seconds, as in the case of my accident, but with everlasting positive effects.

 

10 thoughts on “Wounds 

  1. I was recently in a serious car accident.
    You describe it all so well. I was knocked out for a while.
    While trying to recover, the depression becomes ‘cavernous.’
    As far as hospitals go, they are understaffed and good medical care is ‘falling through the cracks’ because the caretakers (nurses, etc.) are overworked and tired.
    Sigh.
    Many people say everything happens for a reason, but it is hard to see any reason right now.

    1. I am so sorry Mary to hear this and hope you are recovering. It’s a scary experience when you face something like this. I know I truly faced my life before me as I rolled over and over. I hear what you say, and only partly agree. Yes, hospitals are understaffed and they are often tired. But so was I as a medic, and never once used this as an excuse for poor care or bad behavior to my patients… which I have seen time and time again in healthcare. To me, it’s still the system that has these people understaffed and working hours that makes them so tired that they are crabby and rude. And in Doctor’s offices, they surely aren’t tired, and they still are rude! To me it’s simply people now a days, they have become less caring in general. I think many in healthcare may have started with good intentions, but get bitter and sick of the whiney patients and all the hard work they have to do. It’s hard to care day in and day out. It wears you out. I told myself I would get out they day I couldn’t do it anymore, but most don’t. It’s a job, so they stay. You WILL see the reason for why it happened and I promise it will make you a better woman. You are still here, strong and you will come to appreciate every day more. I know I sure do. I love life far more now! xoxo

      1. I was a medic too…long time ago, in the Army. You are right. No matter how tired I was, the compassion for others was always there. I’m not sure what the problem is now. All I know is I wanted to come home as fast as possible, because it is safer and kinder here. At least I think so.

      2. Wow cool. Different work I’m sure….lots of trauma. Thanks for your service, that’s hard work. I’m sure you would never lower your standards, but then you were trained in a different line of duty and caring. I’m sure being home under the care of your loved ones can’t compare. Sometimes I felt, even on the ambulance, simply caring and being kind was what made my patients get better. I sure know it made their blood pressure go down!! xo

      3. That’s why I love the blogging community! I have ‘met’ such amazing and kind people from all over the world. Many of whom I’ve gone ‘offline’ from the blog and whom I keep in touch with via email. It’s lovely… they are like family now.

  2. It is possible to come out stronger and better on the other side of trauma. But you are right that it changes us. If we are blessed with people in our lives who can stay the course with us then we have a good chance of being ok and moving forward to meet our new selves💖

    1. Lovely and true comment. You say it beautifully. You were one of those people for me as you know. You have stayed with me through ALL my selves, thank goodness. And loved and accepted them all. Sign of a true friend. xo

Leave a Reply

