Back Of The Queue


Having been in healthcare in the US for 20 years, I know what a poor system it is and how one must really know how to navigate within it or get lost. Plus one must be an advocate for ones-self or have an advocate, or simply get lost.

Luckily my Mom has me! The elderly in this country are forgotten about in more ways than one, and within the healthcare system is one BIG way. As a friend said: they get pushed to the back of the queue. No-one cares…not really. Many can’t speak up for themselves, have poor insurance (and we all know it comes down to money) and don’t really know what’s going on anyway.

But not only am I a healthcare provider, but I have a big mouth. A bad combination if someone isn’t doing their job. Hey, I’m the best patient  or advocate in the world, if the people are treating patients like they are supposed to do. That’s because I know what it’s all about: how hard the patients can be, the thankless hours, the endless paperwork, the nasty co-workers and crappy management/jobs. I get it all. So I tend to be very nice until you cross the line of not caring or not doing what you are trained to do.

wpid-20150211_075408.jpg

So when someone gets sent home and everything is still wrong, the person is still way too sick–we have a problem Houston! When the home-care RN comes and finds actual data to back this up and tries to call the Doctors and no-one returns phone calls…. well, you can darn well believe this ex-healthcare provider AND daughter is going to be making some phone calls herself.

And they ain’t gonna be pretty!

Come on people! Are you serious here? Is it really only about the money or what? Does anyone care anymore??

So after a rather FIRM, shall we say, discussion with the doctor’s secretary…she said in a very meek tone: hold on please. Oh, yes, I’ll hold on alright. And then I was put through…imagine that!

I finally got a PA on the phone. And finally some resolve. No, Mom won’t go back to the hospital…ever again as a matter of fact thank you very much thanks to all you people! No, that wasn’t an option. And I don’t blame her one little bit. But after much convincing, she did agree to go tomorrow (instead of waiting until Tuesday) to see her Doctor that did the procedure. Thank goodness… It took some doing because she’s fed up with everything, but I was firm with her too. There is just too much going on and she deserves more. I won’t let them turn their backs on this patient.

She was the boss for a long time, but I am now.

You can bet I’m going into that room tomorrow too. And this time, I’m calling the shots!

wpid-20141031_141002.jpg

 

12 thoughts on “Back Of The Queue

  1. You go girl! Your mom is blessed to have someone to stand up to the health care system for her. Bob doesn’t go anywhere near a doctor without me now. I have a social work background so advocating for others isn’t exactly new to me, but it is different when it is family. Hang in there.

  2. Right on sister! It makes me sad that the men and women who have taken care of others their whole life often has no one advocating for them now. I am so glad your mom has you! And I’m glad she is recovering after surgery 🙂

  3. The love and heart you have for your mother is so beautiful to behold. You are making this very frightening time for her one of peace and blessing. As one who could not do that for my mother, I thank you for being a wonderful daughter to yours. Blessed Be dear one…..

    1. Aw Ran, I know that was hard. Living far away is so difficult. This decision was not easy, I left so much behind as you know. But I knew that the end result would make all of it worth it. And now that we are here, I’m so glad I did it. I can’t even express all I’ve gained, and her too! I know it. She is a wonderful Mother and these will be the memories I can now cherish.

Leave a Reply

