The Next Hurdle 


Today my Mom and I shed a few tears together. They were sentimental ones as she lay in her hospital bed preparing for tomorrow’s procedure on her heart. It’s been a rough few days for both of us, but her mostly. 

But during these times of hardship come moments of great clarity too I believe. That is the balance. You begin to see things you have never noticed, or remember things forgotten. 

For me, I realized that after all the years of my Mom telling me that I’m too nice to people and so trusting–after every neighbor, nurse, friend, family member or person who has remotely had contact with her tells me how nice she is and they love her so much–that maybe I get this from her.

And she told me that the day she met me at the Doctor’s office before adopting me, was the best day of her life. 

So with glistening eyes, we both know what a gift it is that we are close now. And that the 40 years we lived far apart have vanished into thin air.

Because she is my Mother, and I love her no matter what and together we will get through this next hurdle.

29 thoughts on “The Next Hurdle 

    1. Aren’t you a dear. Yes, I have really very little support here. I moved here to be near her. It’s very hard to make real friends here too. Most my friends are from other places I’ve lived. So if something happens I’ll be alone in a strange place. I don’t mind being alone because I’m used to it, but I do miss my friends. So this blog is a real support system…people don’t understand it.

Leave a Reply

