Cray-Cray?


As the hurricane is getting closer to where I live, I’m wondering if I notice its pull on the human beings around me? Am I imagining it or is it real?

Certainly humans are overly preoccupied with the weather now that we can have a minute to minute account of what it’s doing via social media on our phones and computers–this with a full onslaught of radar, photos, video and people telling us about the death and destruction about to hit us. No wonder everyone gets coo-coo.

I HAVE LOTS OF WATER!!

Are people better off not knowing? Well, probably not, because at least we can prepare, but wow, one would think it’s the end of the world rather than the possibility of a power outage, wind and some flooding. But maybe it’s just something to talk (complain?) about.
The endless lines for gas, the empty grocery shelves, the incessant talk about what our work wants from us. These folks have obviously have never lived through an ice storm and the following 11 days of no power in sub freezing weather after! Now that sucks! At least it’ll be warm here. Not to diminish the issues that may befall us…just that getting cray-cray is of no use.

HERE’S WHAT A VEGAN STOCKS 🙂

But clearly this kind of thing brings out the best AND the worst in folks, as I’ve experienced both in the past couple of days.

My most wonderful neighbors, who were just hanging out yesterday having a drink or two, chatted with me about the upcoming storm. I asked about preparations and two of them offered to help me get ready! They came over and together we put up my hurricane panels, a job I had never done before. They assured me too, that I have the special windows and should be OK. When offered money or a bottle of wine, they flatly refused, saying that this is what neighbors do for each other! Wow, finally a neighborhood where I belong and where folks are kind and caring.

On the other hand, my desk mate went off on me today. Instead of simply telling me something I was doing bothered him, he got very personal about it. It got mean and hurtful. And when we talked later, he took no responsibility for how it made me feel. While this didn’t totally surprise me, it was rather out of the blue and seemed ‘stormy’ that he should attack me the way he did.

IT GOT UGLY AND SPOOKY AT WORK.

Luckily, I’m used to it there and have learned so much better how to handle these things. It bothered me, but I will let it pass over me like the hurricane. It won’t change me any more than any weather pattern will change me.

In instances like this we can let the pressure make us or break us. We can pull together or decide to let the burden of stress be so heavy that we lash out like the items we haven’t battened down.

It’s really up to us how we want to be and how we want to come out of this: surrounded by our own wreckage or in good shape because we all worked together to prepare.

I’D RATHER BE PEACEFUL.
14 thoughts on “Cray-Cray?

  1. Yes, peaceful is a choice that is good to make. But I’m glad that you have good neighbors who are willing to help you prepare in case the hurricane heads your way. I hope and pray you will be safe, but am glad that the threat of a hurricane showed you what great neighbors you have!

    1. Oh it’s here… 🙂 Just a matter of how bad it’ll be. But I’m a tough New Englander so I’m not too worried. I’ll just deal. Now, though, I feel I have neighbors to weather the storm. In NE I was pretty much on my own and that was awful.

      1. I rode my motorcycle to work in the tail end of it, quite exciting in places.. You would not believe how pissed off my boss was with the car drivers that did not show because of “bad weather” 😀

  2. i love how you stand your ground in a peaceful way- it helps me so much to hear your words and feel your aura — always with you and I need you always with me – love you so much
    E

    1. You have taught me how to be a peaceful person El. Your aura has always been calm. I’ve had to learn to be this way. It was easy for me to get worked up. But I’m better now at not getting upset! I love you more xoxoxo

  3. How nice your neighbors are. Good neighbors make such a difference. Personally, I think the tendency for the news to catastrophize everything makes everyone crazier than they need to be. Of course, it’s better to be safe than sorry, but enough already. Watching the news, I was convinced my loved ones in Florida would be killed because they didn’t evacuate.

    1. I have never been happier living somewhere and I’m not sure if it’s because I’m happier in my life or because this is a 55 and over community and people are just ‘older and wiser’ or both. People here just are really into a sense of community. It’s amazing. I haven’t seen this in years…or possibly ever. I surely haven’t seen folks being so nice since I’ve moved here. And yes, I agree about the media, it’s nuts. I understand making people being prepared, but everything is overkill. They don’t stop. I simply can’t listen most days.

Leave a Reply

