Will I Sleep??


 

wpid-20150909_155120.jpg
THE OLD HOMESTEAD

It was almost a year ago that I left this wonderful home…now I prepare for another big move tomorrow!! This move will be into a tiny 700 square foot condo. I’ve never lived in a condo situation before. Yet I’ve always longed to be part of a community, to belong to a tribe and a neighborhood. So far, with some lovely neighbors, this wish may come true.

There are many things to do within this community: swimming, work out, walking, trips, games and clubs. It’s just a matter of getting involved. Admittedly, for many years now, I’ve been a bit of a recluse. Hopefully I can get myself out of my shell and more sociable. Work doesn’t seem the place that this will happen, so maybe it’ll be this new homestead.

It was built in the ’70’s and appears to have kept the same sense of that era when folks cared more about those around them. The times when neighbors were really neighborly and knew who lived next door. They work hard to make this happen. It’s not quite a co-housing community (not that cool or expensive), but not unlike. Nor is it totally an intentional community, but with all the rules, one could say it’s trying to be.

I’m hoping my pets will make the transition safely and happily. My dog doesn’t know that he already has a new playmate waiting to meet him named Daphne. He will be thrilled since he lost his brother before we moved. My beagle was old and would never had made the trip or tolerated this weather. My pup has been sad without him.

wpid-0718140536.jpg
BYE BYE BRINKLEY

 

I’m more worried about the cats, but tonight I will put out the little carriers for them to sniff. Maybe with a little added catnip. And at least they will only be traveling twenty minutes this time instead of across the country! They should like this new place, with carpets to vomit on and to sharpen their claws….

wpid-20140822_142304.jpg
HOPEFULLY THE CAT CARRIERS ARE BIG ENOUGH?

While I didn’t get the little place near ‘the lake’ and it’s certainly not my beautiful lake near my old home, I can still walk near the little body of water (I think) if I want. And, in the end, there are just so many good reasons to go through all this trouble to make another move in a year. Honestly, I never thought I would, but hey, sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do!

marsh 13
SIGH….THE OLD LAKE….
20 thoughts on “Will I Sleep??

  1. I wish you the very best of times in your new home my dear friend. May you find your tribe and enjoy like minded happy people🌝 But we sure do miss the lakes… .

    1. I made it! We’re all cozy here now. Everyone did pretty one. One cat hissing, but it takes her a while. I’ve got almost every unpacked already….I’m so crazy. Now I have to get a few things, but it’s cool. xoxoxo

      1. I did one at like 4:30 am when I couldn’t sleep. Then hung pictures/paintings today. Then yes, did find one remaining plastic container that held cool stuff that I wanted some of the stuff out. 🙂 But these last two, were just fun things, like my dollhouse.

Leave a Reply

