Welcome??


“Live free or die!”–this was the refrain I was used to hearing from where I just moved. A war cry I often made fun of when I was there, especially as a paramedic. We would change the saying to: Live free AND die when we’d arrive on scene of a motorcycle accident, no helmets, the person dead or dying. Ayup, no helmet laws…that’s right folks, do whatever you like for sure. It’s your life despite best practices and safety information! Go ahead: live free and die for sure…keeps me in business.

It was all a big joke, but many there took their freedom very seriously. And, I suppose, with good reason. In a world, where Big Brother seems to encroach upon us in so many aspects of our lives with all the rules and regulations, I kind of get it.

I, for one, have never been so good at following all of the rules. The ones that didn’t make much sense to me, or seemed unfair or unjust–well, yeah, I definitely went outside those boxes. In that way, I related completely to the above sentiment. It makes me nuts when someone tells me to do something that I deem as irrational or I simply know to be incorrect because I have proof. It gets all my hackles standing on end.

And I must admit, I’m not very good at being quiet about it. I’ve always had a rather big mouth–for as long as I remember. Pressing the boundaries and getting myself in trouble. Not exactly self-righteous, but willing to go against the establishment.

So here I am facing The Establishment like I never have before: buying a condo! It’s a whole new experience for me. I was always afraid I might not be able to do it and to ‘fit in’ and follow The Rules of folks telling me just what I could and couldn’t do with reference to how to live. But I had no idea to what extent it would happen until I went to my ‘orientation’ meeting today. There was reams of paperwork and boxes to check off. It was nuts.


Already a bit crabby missing work because they only have it during the week, something I felt rather archaic–maybe I was already a bit prejudiced I admit. Sure, it’s ‘an active adult community’ (this meaning 55 and over), but that means many of us work for goodness sake!! So why not run some of these after hours or on weekends?? I suppose because the office lady doesn’t want to come in then…but sheesh.

This meeting is mandatory, even though I had already met with someone from my particular building. One can’t close until you go and get some paper from them for the title company!! She didn’t want to overfill the class, meanwhile (if you include a couple) I was the 5th person. Really, 5 is too many? She’s afraid someone would ask too many questions. But instead, SHE talked in redundant circles, about nothing. Garbage, what colors to paint your house, where to park your cars… Are you joking? An hour and half later, I thought I might scream.

And even though she told us to hold all questions until later, she snipped at me with the one question I had, which was never answered. Ahhhh! It was crazy. And there were so many rules! I’m not sure I can go to the bathroom without checking with someone first. Or at least…the color of the toilet paper I buy…


No, but really, it all seemed rather silly, but I’m sure once you move in nobody even cares. And when she said there’s a woodworking club that the MEN are in (I asked if woman can join…yeah yeah, I was being smart)…I thought: maybe I’ll start my own club. Like the rebel club. Or the people who use weird toilet paper club. Or those who never listened during meetings in high school club. Or the live free or die club….

Or maybe I’ll just go into my cute little new condo, shut the door and mind my own business.

26 thoughts on “Welcome??

  1. Hrm… I would be surprised if they let up on the rules once you move in. The condo associations I’ve heard about are quite serious about every little detail.

  2. Can I be the first to join your Rebel club? I won’t show up on time and wear ripped jeans AND paint my illegal plant pots fuchsia…… and don’t even ask what my garden fairies will be doing on my patio after sundown..😁

  3. I suspect that there are toilet roll inspections at least once a month. Get it wrong and you will wake up in a basement tied to a chair with a very bright light shining in your face,..

  4. Awesome, Ellyn elected me President, I appointed her Vice President and you’re the first member….We’re rocking here girl! Now we just have to figure out what club we are! I’m thinking that Chrysalis may be breaking out into a Butterfly here pretty soon…. 🙂

  5. Everyone has told me, including the president from my building (the first woman who ‘interviewed me), that once you move in, just do your own thing (within reason of course) because pretty much no-one bothers you. I’ve been told that by friends who live there too. Now of course if I did something outrageous like run around naked, or move 15 relatives in, or trade my dog in for a kangaroo–someone just might squawk… 🙂

  6. Hey, congrats on your new condo! 🙂
    The homeowners association will likely be fine… ‘though there tends
    to always be that “one” who makes everything their business :-/ ♥ ❤

Leave a Reply

