Switch


image

As usual work has made poor management decisions so the woman who works the evening shift after me is now retired with no replacement. This, obviously, puts a huge burden on the rest of us.

So for a couple of days we floundered, not knowing what was going on, and with one person working mega hours. She demanded a meeting from the manager today, so a few of us met to discuss possibilities.

Understand that there really isn’t anyone who fully understands the evening position. This is a major stumbling block and why they should have had the position posted months ago! She knew she was leaving for months. And she could have trained and new person! Hello!?

Anyway, as it turns out, I’m going to shift to evenings until the new person can take over. I’m not crazy about it, and I’m sure the pets won’t be either, but I was the most qualified and it would have been more of a hardship for the others.

image

So I offered to switch….temporarily.  The good news is that they interviewed two people today. And I can sleep a little later and maybe they’ll notice I’m a team player. Okay probably not the last one.

Anyway a change for a bit. Quieter at least. I’m not sure I will know what I’m doing, but whatever. I’m a warm body.

image

23 thoughts on “Switch

  1. I am hoping that this goes ok for you. Maybe you might even like it better? A bit more peaceful? Bit of a break? Or if not that they will find someone quickly. Blessed be my friend……πŸ’–

  2. It’s not too bad. It’s sort of the same thing I do during the day, just a bit more on my own. And I’ve only been at the job 5 months, so I don’t know very much, so I’m a bit nervous. But I’ll figure it out I suppose……oh well. πŸ™‚

  3. It wasn’t too bad. And yes, there’s a different ambience for sure. I used to work the ambulance shift at night and liked it. I just feel a bit unprepared here still–too new. Everyone is a bit more relaxed–no ‘white coats’. πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks….it went fine. No emergencies. Some interesting chats too. People will open up more because it’s one on one, so I learned some stuff about the place and the people. I will do whatever they need really. Doesn’t much matter. The pets seemed OK…they’ll adapt like me! xo

Leave a Reply

