Ripples


For much of my life, especially in the last years, I’ve had a strong longing to want to help people. Yes, in my years as a paramedic I did help people, but that was a job so I didn’t really feel that counted deep down.

It’s hard to express, but I guess a part of me felt called in some way to do more: to give back to humanity or the world in a greater way. My heart always just felt pulled and doesn’t seem fulfilled unless I’m giving in some way or another.

image
This leaf shines with joy!

Back where I used to live, I tried a number of times to join volunteer organizations, but lack of time or the unbelievable red-tape (surprisingly) to simply give one’s time to places usually just ended up turning me off. Why can’t someone just help? It was nuts. That happened here too when I called a the central volunteer place. I would have had to take a whole day off from work just to go to some ‘orientation’ to learn to sit with an elderly person so I could read to them? Seriously?

It seems nowadays someone’s good intent gets mucked up with liability and other bureaucratic nonsense that makes it unpalatable for someone to even want to give time. Or the volunteer expectations are too demanding, so it becomes discouraging.

image
Too much red-tape!!

And how does one even decide who is really more deserving of time? What constitutes need in someone else to help them in some way?

image
Waiting for passing bee to help…??

Today I had a bit of an epiphany about that very question.

Every day I go to work in a stressful and often unhappy place. It’s filled with overworked folks who complain, grouse about each other and can be extremely negative. They often have crabby looks on their faces, appear tired and run-down, talk about each other and generally don’t always seem to like what they do. Not everyone is like this, but the atmosphere could make Mother Teresa have at least one bad day a week in this OR.

So I thought: these people are in need much of the time. Anything they may have going on in their personal lives (and I happen to know many of them do), is only amplified by their misery at work. The pressure and stress at work wreaks havoc on some of them, even the best of them.

They get hurt physically, they get sick, have headaches, yell at each other, are depressed…it’s a mess. It’s actually quite sad to watch, I thought. It struck me today that this is the perfect place to do some positive work! I needn’t go any farther than my work place to do some good!

Actually, I started a while back by providing a big, huge box of candy for anyone who wants it throughout the day. Sometimes they have a hard time grabbing food in time, so this helps getting a quick snack. I also have a ‘medical’ stash of Ibuprophen, Tums, eye glass cleaner etc.

But the most important thing I am now concentrating on is being cheerful, kind and nice to people–even the most crabby. Taking into consideration what may be going on within their personal lives, piled with work stuff—it can’t hurt to try. I’m also doing a special feature in the newsletter where I will premier one person a month: Surgical Services Star.

image
We are ALL stars in our own way!

No, I’m not going to Africa to save the world or even down the street to a nursing home, but these folks need something too. We are all human beings no matter how big or small our need. Touching someone else’s life in a positive way is simply a ripple that can’t be bad.

There is just so much negativity these days: on the news, on the blogs I read, in our work place, within families, driving down the street…  I for one just would like to change it in myself. And if I can help change it in others, then I’ve helped change the world a little bit and I’m OK with that for now.

And maybe someday down the road I’ll change the world a lot.

image
There is need everywhere you look! Just help how you can….!
16 thoughts on “Ripples

  1. Cool. That sounds great!

    I’ve been toying with the idea (and gotten approval from The Messenger) to do a “caught being good” column, which is a program that was instituted by my elementary school principal to get the stigma of being called to the principal’s office to be lessened somewhat and to recognize good deeds done.

    I don’t know if it will take off, but my idea was for me to come up with a handful of people and then have the general population nominate people for the next issue…

    But, yes, too much stress and negativity and anything we can do to be a positive impact on the people around us is a good thing, and small thing do make a difference, so we don’t have to go join the Peace Corps or be a missionary to a rural village, etc.

    1. Wow, two minds with but a single thought! This is so cool. That’s neat they agreed to do it. Agreed, people love to be acknowledged. Even just within our own community. This is a lovely idea. I was bummed today when our newsletter guy said it will probably only come out now four times a year instead of every month… boo.

  2. Changing our own space in this world is a beautiful and solid way to see those ripples of kindness ringing outward. I have found the surest way to help myself feel more positive is to help someone else. Well done secondhalfwoman🌻🌞

    1. Thanks love. Yes I feel best when I’m helping someone else. I hear all the awful things going on in the world….one person reaping pain and sorrow on another and want to tell them: the key is the opposite! It’s all about love and kindness! That’s what will change the world you crazy people.

  3. It is crazy how difficult it can be just to volunteer…I fight against that daily. But meanwhile, I think you are on the right track. Just do the best you can, when and were you can, to be positive. And that will make a difference!

    1. Isn’t it? What is up with that? They either demand specific or too much time, money or certain skills. They want all this training for simple things one will be giving. Or it’s hard to meet with the people or whatever! I say after a while: forget about it! I guess it’s just not worth volunteering. So what I’m doing is certainly helping me…and hopefully the one’s I’m reaching out to at work. I gave someone a card today because she mentioned her son had been having some difficulties and I could tell she was down. She was shocked and said “you made my day”. There you have it! 🙂

  4. You do seem to be changing the world for the better. Good for you! I have to leave for dinner now or the hubby will have low blood sugar evil temper, so can you leave me a link to your lune? I saw many lovely poems, but none of the right syllable count. 🙂

      1. I tried your link several times, clicking on it and copying it into my browser, but each time it took me to my own site, drafting a poem. Then I hunted on your site some more and couldn’t find it. Can you tell me the title and date, and I’ll look again. Sorry I missed it! And it’s lovely that you think of me that way. I’m just another person finding her way. 😉

  5. What a beautiful insight. We can just take care to be gentle to ourselves and those around us. It spreads out from there, and does more than you imagine. The person whose day you make easier will be kinder to their partner, child, pet….Good job my friend.

Leave a Reply

