Vote


image

One of the first important decisions I ever made with regards to politics was affiliating with a party. This I did many years ago so I could vote in the primary. I knew that I would never vote Republican  (well once I voted for a Republican for a particular position), but I am 99.9% of the time aligned with a more liberal point of view. Therefore I saw no point in remaining an Independent and missing out on the primary races.

image

Normally it’s a no brainer for me. I would march right in to a little voting area in my small town in New England and cast my vote. But today was the first time in years that I struggled with my decision.

And today was my first time voting since moving. I was nervous it would be complicated and the lines would be awful. Neither were the case.

image

Last night I went so far as to go online again and read up on the candidates. I even kept the radio on today hoping to hear some final words of wisdom. In fact, I even hoped those obnoxious people would be outside soliciting votes for their candidates like they always did back home. But that’s the ‘live free or die’ state. As you can see by the sign, people have the appearance of more manners around here, so no-one was in sight.

So instead, I discussed it with my Mom, some friends and slept on it last night.

image

And then I took my paper today and walked into a little booth. Actually I figured it would be more sophisticated here in the big city, but no, it was pretty easy. No wonder it got all screwed up before here in this state (maybe it’s too simple). At least my name was on their list and I went to the right place.

I looked at the two names for a few minutes, thought about everything I read, what I talked about with everyone and then thought about what I felt inside.

And then, I voted.

4 thoughts on “Vote

Leave a Reply

