Tornado


We had a tornado watch at work today. A strange alarm kept going off in the dungeon where I was working and voices kept coming on overhead to announce the possible tornado. Everyone but me seemed pretty calm having lived through it before, although some were checking the alerts on their phones (actually we’re not supposed to have our phones on at work). But I was just sort of bewildered figuring when I left work that I would be swept up like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz never to be seen again….

I told them this at work as I was leaving…and they assured me that I would know if one was heading towards me, but not if it was coming from behind. And yes, I might just end up in Oz…so just make the best of it. Yikes, I had actually forgotten my ruby slippers….

wpid-0219140622.jpg

You see, I’m actually a girl of blizzards and ice! This I know from…cars doing 180’s or hitting your breaks and having nothing happening. But being picked up off the ground by a giant funnel of wind? Egads! No thank you! Give me snow and freezing rain any day! That I can deal with!!

When I left the building there were some guys standing around where I punch out and they assured me the tornado had left the area, but it was still pouring. Oh great, my umbrella was in the car and the parking garage is not close! When I mentioned this, they asked why I wasn’t walking through the hospital to leave? Um, because I’m new and didn’t know the way I said sheepishly. Luckily these dudes were happy to help a sister out so I only got slightly wet.

wpid-20141127_084229.jpg

I have no idea if all the palm fronds laying on the road were left in the tornado wake or just from heavy winds, but I made it home safe and sound…. And I didn’t see any Flying Monkeys on the way home either!!

Yes indeed: there’s no place like home!

wpid-20141114_080148.jpg

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tornado

  1. I lived in Kansas for seven years when I was a teenager, and Kansas is know (rightly so) as “tornado alley.” We had tornado watches and warning so often that we just got used to them, and I suspect that was the way your coworkers felt also. It takes some getting used to, that’s for sure! But I’ll never forget how, when the warning sirens went off, most of our neighbors went out on their front yards, looking at the sky to see if they could spot a funnel cloud, rather than take immediate shelter. If they thought the tornado was bearing down on them, they took shelter. But not one moment before….

Leave a Reply

