Poem : Old Friend


image

image

image

Listening to an old song
Transported back in time
Knowing it could have been me
In that car
I will lay me down
And it feels like my waters
Are always troubled lately
Who would you have been?
With your wild hair
Rough hands
And poor choice in boys
Sail on
Wherever we go
It’s no picnic here honey
You were the first
Made me see my flesh
When I’m down and out
I know I’m alive
Maybe that’s a consolation
Are you on my side?
Who will comfort me
Because there are no friends
They didn’t leave the way you did
But they still don’t dry my tears
I hope you are shining
It’s been so long
I have not forgotten
The song
Eases my mind
Your short brilliant spirit
Still flies
And is the bridge
Over my troubled waters

Leave a Reply

